Are you listening, God?

Psalm 46:10. Why would God tell us to be still? I struggle with this sometimes because my life is chock full of things to do and errands to run and frankly, God, ain’t nobody got time for that! Well, what I’m learning, and what I believe God is and has been telling me, is MAKE TIME! What does He mean in Psalm 46 when we are told, “Be still and know that I am God”. There is no possible way He could possibly mean that. Be still? Really?! A couple things God has been showing me through this is that, no matter how hard I try, I cannot do this alone. I cannot do this without Him and I cannot do this without all the people who are praying for us and who are physically being Jesus to us. I know it bothers Eric that he can’t “fix” this for me and here is where both of our faiths will grow stronger, cuz we can’t fix it. We have to trust God and His timing and provision.
Something I read before all this happened that is really sticking with me is a [paraphrased] quote by Francis Chan that basically says we claim all the time to trust God and to rely on Him and then we plan and plan as if He doesn’t exist. Wow. That is so, so true. God is showing me His goodness and giving me such peace beyond understanding, and all I have to do is be still. Prayer is not a one way street, we can’t just babble all our requests to Him and then not listen. God is not a genie up there waiting to fulfill our requests. No, He is a loving and patient father with whom we need a two way relationship.
God wants to communicate with us. A few days ago I was asking the question “Does God even hear me??” Then God revealed that I need to be asking “am I listening?” and just that little change in perspective has really helped me rest in Him and by doing so, hear from Him. Amazing. What an amazing God we serve!! We need to keep in mind that God didn’t promise us trouble-free lives (where’s the testimony in that??? And, we are supposed to be Christ-like, and did Jesus have an easy trouble-free life? Um, no. Why should we expect to?) but He will give us joy no matter what the circumstance. I am proof of this! Even through this a troubling time -and I am not saying tears don’t get shed, because they do!! And a very wise friend told me IT IS OK TO CRY! (Love you, Beth!!) – I have joy in my salvation. I have joy in serving God and trying to live out His plan for my life. I may not always feel “happy” but regardless, there is joy. Hallelujah!!

5 thoughts on “Are you listening, God?

  1. Your posts are such an inspiration and testimony of your faith. Praying for you and your family as you start the “unknown” journey! Thanks for reminding me that I need to listen to hear God’s answers. Take care!

  2. Kim I am so glad you started this blog, as we follow your story with the unknown. We will be right here walking through it with you guys! We love you guys and are praying for you guys. You are so strong Kim and you are right it is ok to cry:) Love you girl!

  3. Thanks for the reminder that we need to listen! Isn’t that what relationship and communication is all about in the first place? Your faith in God is a real inspiration to me. I will continue to pray for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

