I love to worry.

I seriously do. Maybe that’s not normal, but there is something almost comforting about worrying. It makes me feel like, if I’ve already thought through all the possible outcomes and planned ahead for each one that I am somehow more in control of the situation. Here is where I am so, so wrong. Again. Haha that happens a lot these days!! Jesus tells us in Matthew 6 “Can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?…Therefore do not worry about tomorrow for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” So, wait, Jesus is telling us there will be trouble in life? And then tells us not to worry. That is counterintuitive for me. You tell me there’s gonna be trouble, well that sounds like free reign to worry! I guess Jesus is trying to tell us He’s got this. I’m learning a lot about trust through this experience. Do I truly believe God’s got this? Then I need to stop worrying. 

So I wrote all this then got the test results we were waiting for. And the news is GOOD! The cancer has not spread anywhere but in the lymph nodes we already knew about!! Praise the Lord!! Truly, had the news been any different, I would love to say I would be just as able to praise God. But I don’t know. It’s not always easy, especially when we are going through hard times, and our patience is being tested, but we gotta keep in mind Romans 8:28 that tells us that God works for the good of those who love him. So no matter what we are going through, we can have peace in knowing that ultimately it’s for our good. Once we’ve given our lives to Christ we are submitting our bodies and our will to use for His purposes. And trust me, it’s better than anything we could ever plan for ourselves! Would I have ever picked cancer as a platform to minister to people? Yeah no, don’t put me down for cancer. Buuut, I think God’s onto something here. Who knows who I may meet through this experience. It’s kind of exciting (in that respect only. Otherwise it’s pretty lame lol).

Thank you, once again, for your prayers and support. It means so much to us. And, let’s face it, you guys are good at it!! Oh, and no word yet on whether I’m a mutant 😉

5 thoughts on “I love to worry.

  1. YAHOO PRAISE YOU LORD!!!!! I am soooo very excited at this news, Kim! My prayer from the very beginning was that the cancer had not spread anywhere, that is was just in those two lymph nodes. BTW, Romans 8:28 is one of my life verses. I have clung to it during hard times. God is Good!

  2. Wahoo! Romans 8:28 has always been my favorite verse and you are a walking example of this. We love you Kim, Eric and fam and will continue to pray for the next steps!

Leave a Reply

