Surgery. Ah jeeze.

Ok, so this is me. Freaking. Out. Not even sure how to process all this info at this point. But I know that I desperately need prayer right now.

We just found out that surgery will be Friday (a day and a half away!) and it will pretty intense. It’s gonna be a 7 hour surgery with a team of surgeons that includes the surgeon we saw today, who we know is world class, and a world class plastic surgeon (and no, he doesn’t take requests for other procedures while I’m under. And no, his nurse did not find that funny). So anyway, this surgery will include some facial reconstruction where they will take some tissue from my thigh to put into my cheek where the one tumor is so that, no lie, my ear doesnt sink into my face. I can’t make this stuff up, people. They will have to remove a portion of my ear and the plastic surgeon will reconstruct it using tissue from my arm I think. They will remove 30-40 of my lymph nodes on the right side of my neck. I will have to stay in the hospital 6 days. And this is where I started to tear up. I just can’t imagine being away from my kids for that long. I know they could come visit with someone, but I don’t think they need to see mommy like that.

And there’s even one more speedbump. My brain MRI showed an abnormality. No cancer, but a lesion that they need to check out and rule out an aneurism (sp??). He doesn’t think that’s what it is, but they have to rule it out.

So. This is where we are at. I know God is working in this because our surgeon just happened to have not one, but two cancellations for this Friday making enough time for the surgery. Also, the plastic surgeon who is working with him just happened to have written a paper about this exact reconstruction. Even our main surgeon was surprised to hear that when he called him while he was in the room with us. Also, I’m pretty sure my surgeon is a Christian. Maybe that would not matter to some people, but it does to me. When he was explaining the surgery, he says, “I just work here.” He looks up and says, “someone else is in control.” So. Awesome.

I know God is working in this. I can see it and I can feel it. It is absolutely tangible. But before all you kind people start calling me brave (which I’ve appreciated although not quite understood lol) just know that I feel anything but. I am only facing this because I have to. I feel scared, and sad, and small. But, I know God is here with me, and no matter my attitude going into this, His protection and provision will be the same.

Thank you all again so much for your prayers. This experience has blessed us so much in just how people are taking care of us and lifting us up in prayers. Thank you all for your support and love and to the anonymous and nonanonymous donors, thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Every scripture people give me, I look up. Everything people give me to read, I read. Every card we’ve gotten, I save and bring with me to appointments so I can read them while I wait. Thanks again. We would appreciate continued prayer support. Here we go! Love you guys!!

27 thoughts on “Surgery. Ah jeeze.

  1. Surgery. Ah jeeze.
    November 14, 2013
    Wow, you’re a time traveler also, writing a day in the future, so you’ll time travel right through this surgery and will be on the road back before you know it. maximum prayer overdrive from all of us will be our pleasure.

  2. Prayers being sent your way! Thank the Lord for such great Drs and the way their schedule just “happened” to open up!

  3. Continuing to pray for you and your family, especially on Friday. I love ” God-incidences. Will be praying for your doctors also.

  4. My dearest Kim, know that Evan and Britney will be in the loving arms of their grandparents, caring for their every need with lots of love, hugs and kisses and maybe some candy too (lol). I know this is happening quick now, but it is amazing to see how God has worked things out for this to all come together. We love you and Eric so much and will be by your side as you move forward on this journey. Praise God for his faithfulness and the many blessings and prayers from our churches, family, and friends!!

  5. Prayers for you and your family for strength and healing during the coming weeks. Such powerful lessons in your testimony for me and I know you said you don’t feel brave but you are, your faith is proof of that. You brought tears to my eyes. I am so moved. God’s reaching someone through your experience. Keep that faith and as you already know, so many are praying for you and love you.

  6. I left u a comment in the “about me” blog, sorry got caught up in reading ur story n left a comment on the wrong one, but altho I have never met u, I can read u are an amazing woman of God n he promises to take care of you,Hebrews 13:5b, n also Josh 1:9, I clung to those verses as they wheeled me down to surgery, {{hugs}}, hang on to the (God moments) there will be many, our God is so AMAZING like that!!

  7. As a cancer survivor (there are a lot of us), I am sending a prayer for you. ( I am a “friend of Josh)

    P.S. do you know what abundant means? Thought so….Ephesians 3:20

  8. Praying for you and your family! I have known Beth Coblentz’s family since I met her older sister in kindergarten. Beth has asked us to pray for you like we did for her. Lifting you and your doctors and nurses up in prayer! Jesus will be there holding your hand the whole time. You will never be alone. Our God is a god of miracles! May God give you peace and comfort in the days ahead.

Leave a Reply

