Don’t forget the sunscreen!

So this week has been….interesting! The highs have been really high and the lows have been really low. I finished my radiation on Friday (yay!) and at lunch time my husband calls me to say we are going out to dinner to celebrate (score!) but when he gets home around 3pm, he is really sick. Really, really sick. Luckily Eric’s parents were around to get him to the hospital. And after several hours in the ER we find out it’s his appendix and that they will do surgery the next morning. So from Friday evening to Sunday morning Eric had to stay in the hospital for fluids and IV antibiotics. Turns out he had an umbilical hernia that they needed to fix while they were in there AND his appendix had leaked a little and had gangrene on it! The surgeon gave us pics of it, so that was pretty cool. We also had lots of visitors which was great and really helps you get through.

Saturday night we had a high moment again- my sister in law (Eric’s sister) and her now fiance got engaged! I’m so excited for them. And the ring is stunning, just sayin. Then Sunday Eric was discharged and we had a pretty quiet evening. Monday comes and I am anxiously awaiting the cable guy – we have not had tv for the 5.5 years we’ve been married so this was exciting! Bring on the Saved By The Bell reruns!! – when I get a text that my mom is in the hospital with extreme dizziness and nausea. Luckily I got the news while an awesome family from our church was visiting (you know who you are and you’re amazing and encouraging and we love you guys!) or I would have lost it.

image
They brought me this cake :')

My mom’s issues turned out to be vertigo. Not a fun thing to go through, just ask my mom, but a relief in that it wasn’t anything worse like a stroke or something. So later that afternoon just as soon as Eric lets the cable guy in, I get a call saying we are going to Florida – for a week! Here we are up again!! That made for a fun night of exploring our cable options and planning for this trip.

image
Our son loves my radiation mask! He puts on and says, "I'm Mommy now!" haha

Then it snowed Tuesday. A lot. And I had to cancel my appointments at Penn with my oncologist and radiation oncologist’s nurse. That’s just an annoyance though. So besides feeling like I swallowed a cheese grater (my throat is beyond sore, even on 2700mg a day of gabapentin and some ibuprofen thrown in) and looking quite leperous in my facial area, I’m doing great and my hubby and mom are too. Whew.

image
Unclean!! Sorry if this grosses anyone out!

And it’s officially official. We are going to Disney! In three weeks! We are going before I start my year of chemo – not excited. But this amazing charity, For Pete’s Sake, is sending the four of us to Florida for a full week, all expenses paid. I still get teary-eyed thinking about it. Once I beat this cancer and am back to work, I fully intend on supporting them and their mission. I’m told they even host a 5k color run in the summer – would love to participate sometime! Color runs are seriously the bomb. I only did one but it was a really cool experience – right Shayla? (; Apparently there are a few charities by this name, and they’re probably all great, but this particular one’s website is http://takeabreakfromcancer.org I sit back and just am amazed that this organization is completely dedicated to giving people with cancer fun and great memories with their families and let us, well, take a break from cancer! We get to take a break from the tests, the treatments, the doctor appointments, the bloodwork, the everything! When you are undergoing cancer treatments, cancer is your life. And not just yours, your loved ones’ too. And we get to take a break from it!!

But the funny thing is, I have melanoma and I’m choosing to go someplace (hopefully) sunny for the week! What am I thinking?! Truthfully, I am scared. I am scared of being in the sun and scared of putting my kids in it too as we know this beast is hereditary. I wonder if mentally I will be able to take a break from this cancer. I know I know, poor girl and her free trip to Florida! Lol sometimes I amaze myself at the stuff I come up with to worry about! But it’s there in the back of my mind anyway. And it always will be. So I will pack hats for everyone and sunglasses too (you can get melanoma in your eyes, you know!)

The running joke has been now – don’t forget the sunscreen! And it’s so true. I will never go anywhere without it now. And the more I thought about it, the more I realized that all I need is Jesus and sunscreen. Jesus is actually a lot like sunscreen in some ways. Let me explain; they can only help you if you use them correctly. I can’t just walk around in direct sunlight holding a bottle of sunscreen and just be like “Nah I’m good, I’ve got this sunscreen.” If I don’t apply it, it’s not helping me. See where I’m going with this? I can’t just walk around with a cross tattoo or necklace or emblem on my shirt or carry around a Bible and expect to get the benefits. We have a lot of expectations of God, but guess what? That’s a two-way street. It’s a relationship and in any relationship there are shared expectations. That means He expects things from us too. Feel free to disagree with me, I am able to handle discussions like that. But until you show me scripture that says otherwise, I’ll stand firm in the stance that if we have the desire to have Jesus in our lives, we are expected to read the Bible, follow Jesus, pray, and listen. We are expected to love God with our whole heart and love other people as ourselves. I’m not perfect by any means. I’m not claiming to be. But I just wanted to share that thought with you.

Jesus and sunscreen; that’s all I need. Pale is the new tan, anyway (;

10 thoughts on “Don’t forget the sunscreen!

  1. What a crazy week it was! I really enjoy sharing our families story with people because they really can’t believe what all is going on in our lives right now! 🙂 love you

  2. So happy for you and your family being able to go to Disney World. You will love it. Veryl and I went when Dakota had his Make-A-Wish trip.(he’s the grandson with leukemia) . We will be praying for all of you. Sending Love!!!!

  3. Wow, your weekend makes me tired! Glad Eric’s appendix acted up now, instead of 3 weeks from now – while you’re at Disney! Now That would be a major bummer! Yeah!! You get to go to Disney!!!!! I have been praying that you guys would get to go. Also praying the insurance will let you do your chemo at home!
    I like all I need is Jesus and sunscreen! Have a blast at Disney and act like a kid!! Eat ice cream and lollipops and hamburgers and fries and ….. Then after you can go back and be an adult! An adult who has had a really fun time with her family. Oh, and make sure you go see the princesses! My granddaughter loved it!
    Blessings to you and your family!

  4. Oh Kim, the color run was only a blast because it was with YOU! I will gladly do it again so if you know dates…I’m there =) And of course I’m beyond esctatic that you all will be in Disney in just a few short weeks, we’ll have to meet up!

Leave a Reply

