Infusion #2! Yay!

So I am currently sitting here at Penn in my infusion room receiving my second infusion of 10mg/kg of ipilimumab (Or Yervoy). And I can’t quite explain it, and maybe I’m delusional, but I feel really good! I know that this drug is far superior to my other option, interferon, so I just want to get as much as much of it flowing through my veins as I can! I love that it’s warm outside, even though I’m not out in it, it just makes me feel better to know it’s happening. I can’t really explain this feeling of elation, but I’ll take it! What in the world did they put in this IV?! I want some for home (; Maybe it’s because so far I’ve dodged the “side effect” bullet, but I just feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be. I’m quick to feel uneasy a lot these days and get overwhelmed mentally really easily but God has given me such a peace today. I feel so lucky to be getting this drug (and a high dose of it!) since it’s showing so much promise in advanced stage melanoma patients. Woohoo! I am so glad to have an oncology team that really cares and looks out for me. I am so happy to be at Penn, one of the best hospitals in the world, where the care is excellent and they are constantly doing research and advancing medicine and cancer care. I am glad for my awesome view from my infusion room, check it out:

image

image

And I’m thrilled that Cupcake Wars is on! Lol. I just feel happy and at peace and I’m so grateful. Seriously, what’s in this IV? Haha! Sometimes I feel like I should feel worse or be more depressed, and I realize that sounds weird but given my circumstances I am in an awesome position to fight this cancer for as long as I can! Sometimes when I talk to people, I feel like they’re expecting me to feel worse or can’t believe that I’m so positive. People look at me like I’m crazy. And then I wonder, should I feel worse?? Maybe something is wrong with me, and honestly I probably will have a time where I may feel down or depressed, but I’m grateful for today and feeling as good as I do. Sometimes I feel guilty when I see other people going through chemo because it looks really rough. It’s not that I want to feel bad, it’s just that I worry people won’t take melanoma seriously because they see me feeling pretty good. And then sometimes I think too much. And ramble (:

So anyway, when we came in this morning at 8:30, I had to get my normal blood work (only 22 tubes this time! Haha) Then I met with my oncologist and the head research nurse for the clinical trial. I just love the research nurse, she reminds me of my friend Nancee, so I never mind talking to her. After that just had to wait for blood work to be run and then for them to mix the drug so I didn’t get this started til about 11:15 or so. So here I am, just chillin. Watchin Food Network. Haha life is good! I hope you all are enjoying this beautiful day (:

Oh, and hey, while I have ya, what are you doing Saturday, April 5th at 10am?? *enter shameless plug* How about a color run/walk! Our amazing youth group is hosting this event as a fundraiser for For Pete’s Sake, the organization that sent us on our dream vacation to Florida. Cancer is so, so lame. This organization makes it less lame for cancer patients and their families! If you’ll be in the Terre Hill, PA area check out the website and register today! Here’s the link! This is a family event and will not be timed. We encourage kids and walkers to attendance too. Its gonna be a blast! Hope to see you there!

4 thoughts on “Infusion #2! Yay!

  1. Kim I’m SO happy you are feeling great!! God is answering our prayers! Stay positive it’s good for others to see you having a positive attitude. You are letting God use you thru this cancer and I think that’s GREAT! Love and praying for you and Eric.

  2. Seeing your photos of the big city skyscrapers, a girl from Pa Dutch country Ephrata in big city Philly reminded me of my Amish neighbor when he took his wife and son to Philly for very first time : decides to go to Philadelphia for the first Time in their lives;

    Mother, Father and their son.
    They go into the 30th Street Tower office building.
    As they’re walking around they notice the elevator.
    Never seeing one before they stand in front of it bewildered.
    While staring at it, an old lady in a wheelchair rolls up to it, pushes the button, the door opens, she rolls herself inside and the door closes.

    The amish family watches as the lights for each floor light as it goes up.
    They continue to watch as the numbers go down again.
    The door opens and out walks this tall gorgeous blonde. Legs to her neck. Great figure. Beautiful!
    The father looks at his son and says, “Quick boy, shove your mother in there!”

Leave a Reply

