There’s Hope!

I can’t stop thinking about hope these days. The concept of it in general and how we can place our hope in so many different things. Here’s the dictionary definition of hope: the feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best.

In the cancer community, I see all too often people putting all of their hope in finding a cure. Or in what the doctors can do for them. Or in what promise a medication is showing. The feeling that what is wanted (for cancer to go away) can be had and that events will turn out for the best (find a cure).

As I was reading last night, I ran across Psalm 71:14-15 which says,
“As for me, I will always have hope;
I will praise you more and more.
My mouth will tell of your righteous deeds,
of your saving acts all day long—
though I know not how to relate them all.”

Amen! I will always have hope. Some would say I’m in a hopeless situation. When I signed up for my most recent clinical trial, I had to read phrases like “intended for melanoma patients with no other options” and under the part that said “What are my options if I choose not to participate?” There was simply “comfort care”. Yikes. Every time I go to the doctor, which is quite often, I’m astounded at the number of people who are placing all of their hope in medicine. In doctors. In treatments. I find this so very sad. I can’t imagine the desperation I’d be feeling if all of my hope was in this PD-1 drug I’m getting. It’s actually sold as a melanoma patient’s “last hope”. Does the drug show promise in stage 4 patients? Yes, it does. Is it where I’m placing my hope? Absolutely not.

But even if the drug “worked” for me, it would only be shrinking tumors or stunting their growth, there is no cure for my cancer. Would I love the extra time it could give me?? Of course, I’d be crazy not to want it to work! Some patients are living up to two years longer because of this drug! That’s actually pretty amazing. But I need to be careful not to place my hope in what medicine has to offer. Think I’m crazy if you want, but I know in my heart that I will be around for as long as I have work to do here. When it’s finished, I’ll go home. If God wants me here another 50 years, then that’s how long I’ll be here. If my work is done in 5 months, then, so be it.

Because of Jesus, because of His sacrifice for us on the cross, I have hope. Hope in Him. Hope in truth. Hope in something that cannot fail me. Doctors can fail me. Medicine can fail me. Self-help books, and research, and supplements can fail me. But God? He can’t. Hebrews 6:18-19 (NLT) says, “Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.” No matter how bad of a day I might be having, or how awful I might be feeling physically or emotionally, or how hopeless the situation might seem from the outside, I know that my God has saved me and extended His loving grace to me through His son. It’s overwhelming to even think about. But without that, there would be no hope. And I would be desperate for this drug to work. I see it every day, and it never gets less sad.

I don’t claim to understand how God works or why He may have chosen to allow this in my life, but I know that He is enough for me. I’m not sure I could have said that with 100% confidence a few months ago. He provides in ways that only He can. Abundantly, mysteriously, and almost never how we would have imagined or asked it. I do know that I will never stop praising Him, no matter what, and I will always, always have hope because I know that through His son I am set free.

“Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is
faithful.” Do you believe that today? That if you put all of your hope in God that He will be faithful?

20140711-145413-53653974.jpg

Hillsong “Anchor”
This is a great song that speaks of hope and who God is and what he’s done for us and continues to do.

I hope you all have an awesome week, I probably won’t be blogging as we will be at the beach!! Can’t wait! And yes, we have enough sunscreen lol. And don’t take my brands as recommendations, I am still a bargain shopper at heart so we get whatever’s on sale :/

20140711-151058-54658834.jpg

7 thoughts on “There’s Hope!

  1. We’ll said. I hope I have just a fraction of your faith! Have a great vacation! Take care and God bless, Linda

  2. Have a great week at the beach with the smell of the ocean and the feel of the sand upon your feet. Praying for you and your family to have a wonderful time!

  3. Thank you for this message of incredible and lasting HOPE!! You are one amazing lady of FAITH!! Enjoy the beach with your beautiful family!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

