Let’s Hear It For the Caregivers!

One of my favorite hobbies nowadays is reading cancer blogs.  Call me weird if you want, but I love reading other people’s experiences and struggles in the ridiculousness that is cancer.  I was struck by how many of these blogs (well over half!) are written by the caregiver, the one struggling alongside of us, the cancer patient.

As someone who knows the difficulties and hardships that come along with stage 4 cancer and really, cancer in general, I just need to speak out on behalf of my fellow cancer patients and give a HUGE and well-deserved shout out to our selfless and amazing caregivers *insert virtual applause* (:

You guys are on call non-stop. We kind of get all the credit, we are the “fighters”, but people need to know that there’s a lot going on behind the scenes.  Especially for those of us with little kids (and on my part, those of us who can’t drive AND have little kids). It’s a 24/7 and thankless job to be a caregiver for someone with cancer. Even if we don’t have the physical capabilities to express it, we appreciate you. And maybe sometimes you’re just trying to help us and you get nothing but attitude, we need you to know that it’s just our inability to deal with our circumstances that makes us grumpy, not you being around.  While sometimes we just need our alone time, usually, we are very glad that you’re there.

Your job is tiring and thankless.  Those of us fighting this disease are considered heroes, but you really are the heroes.  You are the ones that make sure we have support, encouragement, prayer support, meals, help with the kids, rides to appointments, etc. The list goes on and on. You support us financially, emotionally, and spiritually. And we appreciate you. We like that you are doing research on our behalf, making sure we have our basic needs met, and making sure our dreams are coming true. It makes us feel loved and special. And we love you.

Nobody else understands the sacrifice you make of your time and resources, but we see it. Sometimes we feel guilty because we feel needy and useless. But it’s not you making us feel this way.  You are always encouraging us, uplifting us, and reassuring us, we just see the strain that this causes and sometimes feel guilty. And did I mention that we love you?

It’s not just us as patients that deal with cancer, but everyone who loves us. So thank you.  Thank you for the cards, the financial help, the meals, the help with the housework and yard, the prayer support, the friendship, the help with the kids, the distraction, the rides to and from appointments, the sacrifice, the laugh, the fundraisers, the Bible verses, everything.

Thank you.

Thank you to my loving husband for being such a selfless support. I love you more than you will EVER know.

I have no idea what this song was intended to represent, but for me this song represents the love and sacrifice given by a caregiver. I love this song. And it reminds me of the selfless and amazing love that we are consistently receiving.  I especially imagine Eric, my husband, when I hear this song, but it could be any caregiver.  A lot of you probably know this song, but listen to it again, and hear our appreciation, from our hearts to yours ❤
Phillip Phillips “Gone, Gone, Gone”

And thank you. Again. From the bottom of our hearts.

7 thoughts on “Let’s Hear It For the Caregivers!

  1. A shout out to Peggy and Joan for their sacrificial love to you, we cannot begin to imagine how hard it must be for them. All those that are helping you are just being “usable” , as you so eloquently stated on sunday. ..”……….joke : are you sure your brain tumor is dissolving, a Phillip Phillips song reference !!!!!!!! You are loved.

    1. I second that about Peggy and Joan and of course Eric. Even when we are adults, moms know how to take care of their children in a selfless way that we can’t explain until we are one. Brit is very lucky to have a mommy like you, and grandmas like them. I guess Eric isn’t too bad either as a hubby…LOL! We love you!!!

  2. Wow, Kim! Your ability to see past your circumstances and be able to be grateful for others is inspiring.

  3. This is so inspiring and so true. I accept and appreciate the acknowledgement of what caregivers sacrifice because I am in that role for several people right now. I also LOVE THE SONG! I forwarded it to family and friends. Thanks for the lift!

  4. Thank you for your kind and generous spirit, Kim. I had never heard Phillip Phillips song, “Gone, Gone, Gone,” before. I’m going to put it on my blog (which is telling my husband’s mantle cell lymphoma story) and let everyone know the beautiful serendipity that caused me to look at your post and find it. Fantastic.

    1. I’m extremely sorry for what you and your husband are going through, this is not an easy journey for anyone involved. I love your blog and your style of writing, thank you for being so vulnerable. I actually know someone who is battling mantle cell lymphoma as well, I will point her in the direction of your blog!!

  5. I have randomly found your blog! Your attitude & faith are amazing. Your family is amazing too. Wishing you well on your difficult journey. All very best wishes & God bless.

Leave a Reply

