So…THAT was awesome! (Part 1)

Wow, hard to know where to begin! We have had such a ridiculously cool last few days that I knew I wouldn’t do any part of it justice trying to cram it all into one blog. And on top of that, I really feel God laying some things on my heart that I want to express as well. So where do I begin? Oh, I know, with my SUPER COOL AMAZING SURPRISE FLASH MOB that our friends/family/community pulled off for us. They did it to Mandisa’s “Overcomer” and I still cannot watch this without getting all choked up. Here’s the youtube video!

Flash Mob!!

I get goosebumps every time! I thought we were taking the kids to go meet my friend and her kids for ice cream and this is what happened. These people (some of them I didn’t even know!!) practiced a ridiculous amount and had secret meetings and a whole secret facebook page for like a month and I never had a clue. Like, I was seriously clueless.

The song obviously has a special place in my heart as it’s hard to listen to it and not feel empowered to face anything! And the music video has been a huge blessing as a means of talking to our son, who is 3, about cancer and what mommy’s going through. He’ll watch it and ask about where her [Robin Roberts’] hair went or what they’re doing to him [Scott Hamilton] and I’ve found it’s been a helpful tool in explaining what mommy gets done when she goes to the doctors and other things like that. Sidenote, he also continually asks where the pretty girl [Mandisa] is when she’s not on the screen. Haha, this kid, he is a little ladies’ man already!! Here’s the real music video:

Mandisa “Overcomer”

There is absolutely nothing that we cannot overcome with God’s help. And I don’t think “overcoming” necessarily means getting out of the circumstances, like being healed in my instance. Overcoming means setting our focus solely on God and letting Him do what He wants to in the situation. I feel like an overcomer because through Christ, I can face anything without fear knowing exactly who has my back. I already have overcome this, no matter what my future holds! I’m an overcomer! 🙂

Here are a few of my favorite pics from the event, or “Community Gathering” as my super-sneaky friends were calling it! Lol!

IMG_0199.JPG

IMG_0202.JPG

IMG_0207.JPG

IMG_0205.JPG

IMG_0211.JPG

IMG_0214.JPG

IMG_0208.JPG

AND they did it again in church this morning. *sigh* So stinkin cool!

Like, I really love these people. A lot. This is so much of our church and support system (and it’s not even everyone!). We are BLESSED and I have a really hard time right now feeling anything but grateful. People kept asking me what I thought about it, and I just couldn’t, and still cant, put it into words. I just can’t imagine people going through all of this trouble to encourage me. I know, without a doubt in my mind, that I will watch this over and over when I am feeling down or discouraged.

Thank you SO MUCH to everyone who helped put all this together and who participated. There aren’t words to describe the warm fuzzy feeling I get thinking about it! Love you guys!!!

Coming soon in part 2, crossing #2 (#2 lol….) off my bucket list! Seeing Hillsong live and worshiping with my all-time favorite band!! 🙂

4 thoughts on “So…THAT was awesome! (Part 1)

  1. Kim, thanks for sharing that, it just gave me goosebumps to see and hear all of that love they were showing for you and your family. Your faith inspires me to keep on believing and never losing hope that Jesus is in every part of our lives and although we may not understand why things are happening when can trust that Jesus is at our side. God bless you and your family, Linda

  2. What a great way for your friends to show their love and support for you and your family!! Loved the video!! hang in there girl, you have lots of prayer and support!!!
    Blessings to you and your family (and friends)! Prayers are continuing for you!!

  3. Wow. That flash mom made me bawl. Not only do I love that song, but my mom is going through a similar journey. She has one more round of yervoy, which isn’t working, then MRI and ct scans and off to Los Angeles to get on pd1 at ucla, as they don’t offer expanded access in San Diego. Her tumors have been multiplying and enlarging while on yervoy, her whole leg and groin are filled with them. She doesn’t even want to get the MRI or ct, doesn’t want to know, but she has to for the pd1 and she does want that. We know we can’t control what is happening to her body, so we just live every day as normal as possible (and normal means taking care of my dad with 21 brain tumors, but he functions very well). Sunday we baptized my grandson (her great grandson) and yesterday she spent the day in my kitchen making fresh tomato sauce and we laughed and enjoyed it. Keep fighting, and may The Lord always bring you those glimmers of flash mob joy!

Leave a Reply

