Another Day, Another Scan

The life of a cancer patient is often riddled with tests and scans in between normal visits and treatments, and I’m certainly no different. We are headed to Penn today for a PET scan. I think most people who have had one would agree with me that they’re pretty unpleasant – especially the 6 HOURS of fasting…

IMG_0365.JPG
But I also think those people would agree that an MRI is way worse. I always say MRIs are awesome if you like laying in a coffin full of jackhammers during an earthquake.

So I think the spectrum goes from, “X-ray?? Alright!!” to “CAT scan! Score!” to “Aww man, a PET scan” to “NOOO!!! An MRI!!”. Or, at least, that’s how I categorize them. And I have my brain MRI next week. Score.

The PET scan process isn’t too bad, besides the part where the nurse books it out of the room and a machine pumps radioactive material into your IV. Yes, seriously. I figure I’m about one away from starting to develop my super powers, still deciding on what my hero name should be. Cancer Kim? Thigh Face?? Eh, I’ll figure something out and let you guys know what I decide.

So anyway, after that you have to drink 2 huge cups of this barium stuff within a few minutes (looks like milk, tastes slightly better than death) and then you have to sit and wait for an hour or more to let all that junk do it’s thang. They usually recommend you sleep during this time because you aren’t supposed to move much, if at all, during that period. But since I’m a rebel, I do crossword puzzles. YOLO!!

So then the nice nurse comes to get you and take you to the machine and you lay down and then the sweet girl straps you down to the stinkin table. With like huge velcro straps, like you ain’t goin nowhere. I always worry the building will catch fire and they’ll all run out and leave me there. That makes for a super fun hour during the test!

And then it’s all over and I’m free to go! The way it works, based on my very scientific and mathematical approach to understanding it is that the cancer lights up on the scan. Haha, yeah that’s all I got. It’s pretty wild actually, I’ve seen some images of my previous ones.

So this will tell us what’s up. My last one, if you remember, was really good. None of my known mets (brain, lungs, hip bone) lit up. That’s phenomenal, but doesn’t leave any room for improvement, which freaks me out. My drug is so new that they don’t know why it works in some people and not others, why it works better in some than others, and for how long it will work (if it works at all). My oncologist explained it to me in something along the lines of “this drug sort of works…until it doesn’t”

IMG_0364.GIF
So, I guess it’s safe to say I’m scared. Once things start popping up again, we don’t really have anything to fight it. I’m trying to stay neutral, I don’t want to get my hopes up for another awesome scan, but at the same time, I’m not someone who likes living in a fearful place. So if you are a praying person and feel led to pray for me today, I would appreciate it very much. Also, if you have any suggestions for a good super hero name, I am currently accepting those too.

33 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Scan

  1. I am praying for you today. It’s gonna be great. You are doing such a great work here. The world needs you and your insight to Gods word.

  2. You are on my prayer list and I will pray especially much today for encouraging results and peace in the waiting. And ultimately for complete and perfect healing.

  3. Prayers for today, Adele and I are both there for you.
    How about “Glowing MaMa” in more ways than one! You have a peaceful glow every time I see you. I still owe you some of my Bean Medley and Artisan bread.

  4. Praying for great PET scan results! Also praying you have peace as you go in for the test and wait for the results. God bless, Linda

  5. Praying for you today and every day! May God fill you with his peace today and in the days ahead waiting for your results.

  6. Kim been thinking of you all week. Your blog on Sunday touched more than you can ever imagine. Thank you for sharing and you will stay in my prayers.

  7. Kim, I always pray for you, but I especially have been praying God will give you a peace and strength. I love the way God has used your life in such a beautiful way to minister to so many people. You truly are a blessing. Love you. Penny

  8. Praying for you Kim! My husband and I have been visiting Ephrata Church of the Nazarene and heard your testimony and I have been followimg your blog ever since. I will place your name on a prayer lists as well. Blessing to you!!!

  9. Praying for peace while you wait and praying for great results! You are amazing! God is using you in such a mighty way because you are allowing him to! Blessings to you and your family!

  10. I am praying for you Kim. I don’t know you personally, we’ve never met (I don’t think). I grew up with Erica Portner, which is how I came across your journey and your parents happen to live beside my Aunt Connie. As a mother, a wife, and as a sister in Christ, I pray for you almost daily, or as I think of you. I praise Him for the goodness He is bringing through your testimony. I pray for you to be able to resist the temptation to fear, but to cling to his promises and his goodness. I pray for your heart, as you grow in sanctification and the likeness of our Savior. You are not alone on this journey. I am praying for you (all the way from the Czech Republic where we live). Many hugs, if I could physically give them.

    1. Thank you so much!! Small world, I used to babysit for Connie’s girls a lot when I was younger (: And seriously thank you so much, your encouragement is very strong and empowering, I love it! I’ve noticed there were views from the Czech Republic, and now I know who they are- so awesome! ((Hugs))

  11. Hi, Kim, hope you are having a good day! In thinking what one might call you -Angelica – came to mind. You are one of God’s warriors which makes you an angel of his. You have reached out to others and shared your experiences the bad as well as the good but always praised God for your blessings reaching many for him. You are very special and although we may not have met personally; I feel I do know you thru your blog. God’s blessings be upon you and your family.

Leave a Reply

