I Just Like NED, NED Is My Favorite

I’ll make this short and sweet (and sweet it is!!), heard from my oncologist today that my scan showed no uptake that was indicative of cancer. Wahoo!! In plain speak, still no sign of active cancer in me. This is so unheard of for stage 4 melanoma. This drug, Keytruda, is a life-saver, so to speak. I am considered NED (or no evidence of disease), it’s not even that nothing new has popped up that’s so amazing but that what was there (mets in my brain, bone, and lungs) is virtually gone. Praising God in regards to my news and some other ways he’s been so faithful to friends and family in the past week. I’m overjoyed at this news, of course, and just getting used to the idea that I might be around here for a while yet.

To celebrate, we will be watching Elf and baking Christmas cookies while listening to Christmas tunes (I think I just heard my hubby’s eyes roll lol), so I need to know, what are the best Christmas songs and versions of them? I usually listen to the radio or Pandora at Christmas, but I’d like to tailor a playlist this year, I just am coming up dry in the idea department. Here are my given tracks (in no particular order):

Winter Snow – Audrey Assad
God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen – Barenaked Ladies/Sarah McLaughlin version
Last Christmas – Wham
Mary, Did You Know? – Pentatonix
Go, Tell It On The Mountain – Little Big Town
All I Want for Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey
I’ll Be Home For Christmas – Rascal Flatts
King of Heaven – Hillsong (not technically a Christmas song, but….Hillsong!)

I know I’m forgetting so many great ones! What are your favorites??

IMG_0366.JPG

48 thoughts on “I Just Like NED, NED Is My Favorite

  1. Great news, enjoy your celebration πŸ™‚

    Sorry about how you were treated the other day by some of my readers, btw.

    I tend to attract the worst kind of people sometimes.

    God bless,

    James

  2. One of my favorites is O Holy Night by Mariah Carey-she sings it beautifully!!! Praise God for your wonderful news! Something to be so thankful for on this upcoming holiday!

  3. Praising Jesus with you. I don’t even know you personally but my friend’s husband worked at the same business as you did. That said, she told me about your encouraging blog and I’m following it. I’ve been encouraged by your testimony and was praying praying praying for your scan. Thank you Jesus for answered prayers. Enjoy your time celebrating!!! Jesus is celebrating right there with you and like you’ve said, is with you every step of the way.

  4. Praise the Lord, Kim!!! Such amazing news. We serve an awesome God who hears the cries of our hearts. Eat a cookie for me πŸ˜‰

  5. So happy to hear. I’ve been praying tons for you to have the strength to take any news u may receive. .. now I hope u have all the strength in the world to bake those cookies and run after the kiddos in their sugar high. πŸ™‚ so glad and happy to hear that your work is still not done here πŸ™‚

    Ps. When sophie was 4… The Michael buble (sp) version of jingle bells came out. It’s a quirky version.. but she loved it lol

  6. Mary did you know by Clay Aiken , he hits the notes. So happy to hear the NED news, don’t just credit the PD1 remember your three legged school, you have all of it working in your favor. If you really are taking the curcumin “religiously” i would venture to say that is working as well. In 6 days you can truly celebrate “Thanksgiving”.

  7. This song is pretty cool and fun! Look up Straight No Chaser singing the Twelve Days of Christmas on YouTube. I am so happy for you Kim. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. So happy to hear this news, Kim. I’m a friend of Tami Murphy and been following your posts. I’m thrilled to see this answer to prayer and have been so inspired by your testimony. I’ll keep praying. Oh, and one my absolute favorites is Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant.

  9. Kim, So excited about your good news!! And we all know who is responsible! Christmas songs: Silent Night, White Christmas, O Holy Night, What Child is This?, Silver Bells, The Heart of Christmas(Matthew West), Come On Christmas (Matthew West), Mary’s Boy Child (Neil Diamond), Winter Wonderland. Can you tell I love Christmas and (most) Christmas songs??? My family won’t let me play Christmas music until after Thanksgiving. 😦 But I play them anyway! πŸ™‚
    Have a blessed Thanksgiving! we will be up visiting the kids. (Big smile)

  10. That’s such amazing news. Hoping we get to keep you around for MANY Christmases to come!

    For songs, I’ve got literally HUNDREDS in my playlist, but here are a few favs:
    -Baby Its Cold Outside (the original or the new Michael Buble/Idina Menzel version)
    -The Chipmunk Song (Xmas Don’t Be Late) – Chipmunks are a must for kiddos
    -The entire Vince Guaraldi Trio/Peanuts Xmas Soundtrack
    -The Christmas Song – Dave Matthews Band (don’t laugh, they did at a live show in Chicago, its really great)
    -Frosty
    -Here Comes Santa Claus (Elvis versions is a personal fav)
    -O Christmas Tree
    -Rocking Around the Christmas Tree
    -Run Run Rudolph (I kind of like Kelly Clarkson’s version)
    -What Christmas Means to Me (The Cee Lo version is a lot of fun for kids to dance to)

    And just a plug for some lesser known XMas movies, if your kids love the Muppets/Sesame Street, there’s an old special they did for TV – “A Muppet Family Christmas” – it’s got everything from Big Bird to the Swedish Chef to Fraggle Rock!

  11. PRAISE GOD FROM WHOM ALL BLESSINGS FLOW!!!! WE ARE SO HAPPY FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY : )
    Some of our favorite Christmas songs are:
    Silent Night – Mercy Me
    Joseph’s Lullaby – Mercy Me
    JESUS, Light of the World – Third Day
    Christmas Like a Child -Third Day
    Move Me Closer – Evie
    Come on Ring those Bells – Evie
    Camouflage and Christmas Lights – The Robertsons
    Why I Love Christmas – The Robertsons and Josh Turner
    And we could go on and on ….
    Enjoy Elf and your cookies!!! We love that movie : )
    Thank you for all your inspiring posts. You are definitely a Bright Light for JESUS!!
    With love and blessings, mike and nancy

  12. Kim – So very thrilled for your awesome news. I will continue to left you and yours in prayer. I also just LOVE my t-shirt!!

    Favorites for Christmas Songs: Dean Martin – Baby, It’s Cold Outside
    Amy Grant – Tennessee Christmas
    Selah – Light of the Stable
    Muppets Christmas w/ John Denver – 12 Days of
    Christmas

  13. Hello Kim. I am Debbie Roberts’ sister-in-law. Glad to hear of NED! I send prayers for you and your family!
    Here are a couple of favorite Christmas songs and then favorite groups: Peace on Earth / Little Drummer Boy by Bing Crosby & David Bowie. Hard Candy Christmas by Dolly Parton (from Best Little Whorehouse in Texas). Anything by Mannheim Steamroller, Trans-Siberian Orchestra or Straight No Chaser.
    RenΓ©

  14. What wonderful news!! So happy for you and your family!! Thanks again for the wonderful cookies:). Christmas songs I like…off the top a few a can think of..Little Drummer Boy (Crosby/Bowie), Mary Did You Know, A Baby Changes Everything, Vanessa Williams Has a great Christmas Cd, I saw GLAD in concert for Christmas and I really like their accapella Christmas CD-I might like it because I saw them in concert. The list could go on and on:). Have a wonderful Thank”ful” Thanksgiving.

  15. Awesome news!!!! So many good Christmas songs!! Not sure if these were mentioned but I think they are cute and think maybe the kids would like them….Dominick the Donkey, I want a Hippopotamus for Christmas. I’m a kid at heart!!

  16. I’m so thrilled to hear your NED!! My husband was on Zelboraf for 13 months and when it stopped working things got worse fast. He now has 16 mets in his brain and 4 4 others in various places all of which increased in size. He has just finished his 2nd Keytruda infusion and I hope hope hope and pray pray pray for some relief for him. He’s scared, I’m scared and so reading about your journey gives us a little bit of hope. We joined a group on Facebook called The Melanoma Warriors and have recently read about another man’s experience with Keytruda and he too is NED so I’m sure you can imagine my feelings. I wish you the best of luck and look forward to reading about your journey.

Leave a Reply

