Glitter and Grace

I’m so happy to be here sweeping my kitchen floor for the 3rd time, trying to get all of the glitter remnants up from yesterday’s arts and crafts time with the kids. And I’m not even being sarcastic! I never thought the words “happy” and “sweeping” would be in the same sentence for me, ever. If you know me well enough, or have ever had to endure being my roommate or coworker, you totally get why I say that; I’m a mess.

But as I stare at the little pile of red and green glitter on my kitchen floor, I can’t help but smile. I’m here and feel well enough to clean it up, I’m here to do crafts and make memories with the kids…I’m here.

By Your grace I live and breathe to worship You!

If you’re familiar with Christian music, you know that’s a line from Darlene Szchech’s “Victor’s Crown”. And I’m reminded of God’s grace and how God is giving me comfort in overcoming my survivor’s guilt.

Grace isn’t something we get because we deserve it or have earned it, it’s not something we can accomplish. It is so counterintuitive. It makes no sense. It goes against every way of the world.

And that’s why it is so awesome.

It’s God’s gift for all, it’s a fresh start, a clean slate, a new beginning. Every day that we have here on this planet is a new beginning, a fresh chance to get it right, a step towards a life of purpose in acceptance of grace through Jesus, no matter what our lives looked like before. All we have to do is accept it.

So even though I’m headed out now to get a new lesion biopsied, I kind of feel like I don’t care how it comes back. Weird, I know. But I’m not in control of this (that and of course the fact that my skin is the least of my worries at this point haha). But I am relishing the feeling that I don’t have to be strong enough or have all the answers. This has all been overcome.

8 thoughts on “Glitter and Grace

  1. Kim: Greetings. I am executive editor of Life:Beautiful Magazine, published by Grey Dog Media in West Des Moines, Iowa. We are a print magazine for Christian women. If you have never seen it, we are a glossy, general-interest pub aimed at women, similar to Martha Steward, BH&G and those types of mags. Each issue includes stories about faith, families, cooking, decorating, design, and life today. I was looking for story leads for our next issue when I found your blog. You are a WONDERFUL writer! While I was so sorry to read about your battles over the last year+, I found your story compelling, your take on life encouraging, your humor uplifting and everything about your blog engaging. We would like to do a story with you. I say “with you” because we’d like to use selections from your blog to tell the story. Please let me know if this is possible. It won’t require much of your time or energy ā€” mostly your permission to use some text from your blog and some of your images. Please let me know if we can do this. Send me a note at the email address below. The best place to check out Life:Beautiful is our facebook page or our website (we’re updating that soon!) at http://www.lifebeautifulmagazine.com. Send me a note and I will send you PDFs of some recent stories so you can see how we handle our articles. Thanks. steve

    1. Hey Steve! Thanks so much, that is definitely something I’m interested in! How cool. I hadn’t heard of your magazine before but I just checked it out briefly online and it looks great. Let me know what I can do, I don’t see an email address here to contact you at, so I’ll give you mine and hope you see it: andrewfamily08@gmail.com
      I look forward to hearing from you!

      1. Wow, you have arrived! If it is legit this is the perfect place for you to spread your inspiration message, next you’ll be hearing from Australian magazines šŸ˜‰

  2. Stumbled on your website, while researching different options for my daughter. Has 3 melanoma with lymph node involvement & subsequent disection/removal. Is starting radical chemotherapy treatment tomorrow; of course, not confident about this particular course. New t cell therapy sounds so promising, but insurance holds back on so many life saving therapies and research… I enjoy reading about your journey, thoughts, and fears from both a serious side as well as the humor that you have refused to let the “c” steal from you. As a mom, I can relate to each and every word/feeling that you talk about!!! –so glad to know I’m not alone and crazy with these fears. Keep blogging and I will keep reading!!!!

Leave a Reply

