Who Am I?

I am an Israelite in the desert, You have delivered me and still I doubt. You have performed miracles before my very eyes, and still I question You.
I choose the world and then curse You when everything goes wrong. I keep turning away, and yet You still protect me and give me chances that I don’t deserve.

I am Jonah, running in fear from the purpose You have given me.

I am Gideon, I try to tell You that You’ve got the wrong one, that I am not good enough to do what You need done. I doubt that You can use someone like me.

I am David, I allow my momentary impulsive desires to compromise everything You’ve built and everything You’ve done for me.

I am a pharisee, I consistently choose legalism and rules over truth and compassion.

I am the rich young ruler, unable to part with my material possessions. And at what cost?

I am Simon Peter, convinced my faith is unshakeable, but You know better.

But I am also the woman at the well; so deeply entrenched in sin, but standing in awe of You. I’ve lived far away from You in a way displeasing to You, and can’t imagine why You would reach out, how You could love me, why You would seek my heart. I can’t understand why You would trust me with Your message of redemption and salvation, but You do.

I’m unworthy to carry such a message, but I will, because it’s not about me, it’s about You. You use the lowest of us to show Your strength. You have never failed us and we can rest on Your promises, always.

You are a God of second chances, a God who will redeem even the most broken of hearts and lives, a God who knows our hearts and loves us anyway. Only You can take a life of failure, disobedience, and doubt and turn it into something bigger, something beautiful, something usable and with a purpose.

I don’t understand, and I’m sure I never fully will, but I sure am grateful. Your plan is perfect and I’m choosing this day to follow and never turn back.

.

28 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Thank you Kim, for reminding us that God can take us humans and restore us to himself, even though we don’t deserve it!! May God continue to bless you and use you this year!

  2. Wow! Kim you are strong beyond belief! You encourage as I follow your journey. Keep the faith as obviously you have found your calling. May God continue to bless you and your family in this new year!

Leave a Reply

