It’s Not About Me

God’s been laying it heavily on my heart lately that:

1. Where our burden is and where our heart breaks is where he wants us.  That’s where we are called to minster and serve.  This was the sum of my previous post, The Blessing in the Burden.

And:

2. It’s not about me.

We already know that, right?  That we are supposed to “die to self” once we align our heart with Christ’s.  But as I listened to my friends today in Sunday school admit where they felt the lowest, where they couldn’t see or hear God, where they felt like there just wasn’t a way out, I realized that it wasn’t about them.  And my cancer is not about me.

When we submit our will to God’s will and give Him the say in what comes in our lives, we are telling Him that we trust Him and that we will weather the storm if that is what we are called to do.  We know that God works for the good of those who love Him, we also know that that doesn’t prevent or shelter us from tragedy, hurting, illness, etc.  We must trust that the good in it may not even be for us.  We are told in scripture that we are comforted so that we may comfort others.

We are comforted so that we may comfort others (2 Corinthians 1:4).  Did you hear me?  Each of our individual struggles, our hurt, our sordid past, our failures, our weaknesses, the places where we needed God the most, those can be used.  They can build the Kingdom.  They can make a difference!  For.  Other.  People.

Our trials may not be in any way about us.  Praise God that He sees the big picture, He sees the fruit that can be born out of the tragedy or hardship even if we never get a glimpse of it, and that He provides us with the strength we need to do the impossible in Jesus’s name!

Paul wrote many of his letters to the early churches while he was in prison, fully knowing that he many never see the good that came out of his faithfulness.  But he still wrote.  Just let that sink in…from prison…no promise that he’d see the fruit….still did the work.

I’m reminded of a really beautiful song that talks about how God is there even when we can’t see or feel Him.  And not only is He there, He is working for our good!  But are we able to accept that “our good” may not actually benefit us at all, but may mean the difference between life and death for someone else?

One of my all-time favorite songs: Meredith Andrews – Not For A Moment

I’m thinking now about how one of my favorite singers from one of the world’s most popular Christian bands, Casting Crowns, was just diagnosed with cancer.  My heart broke for his family, knowing all too well what this sort of diagnosis means for the people who love the him.  But at the same time, I was very excited that there will be a light shining in one of the darkest places I’ve ever experienced, the cancer center.  My prayers are with Mark Hall and his family, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it’s not about him…


17 thoughts on “It’s Not About Me

  1. Thank you Kim! That was “a letter from God to me tonight”…. or so it seemed! 🙂 Thank you again and many blessings on your life as you continue to encourage others. You have a beautiful testimony!

  2. Another great message Kim. This is one of the hardest things to understand as a Christian. We don’t see the whole picture. And sometimes I do well at “it’s not about me” and then I need to hear the lesson all over again. I get frustrated with people who just “don’t get it”. But God reminds me to love them and share His grace and blessings no matter what. All the glory to HIM. As Joyce Meyer said last week, we live in a broken world. It’s like we are traveling through and staying in a hotel (not a very good one at that!) when our real home is a mansion. No matter what we go through here on earth our final reward is a heavenly home with Him forever. Blessings to you.

  3. You are learning and teaching a Truth that was hidden or ignored in my generation (the hippies, the boomers). We had so much “feel good” and prosperity teaching from TV preachers thrown at us and we perpetuated it. I praise the Lord He has been teaching me through hardship and illnesses and family member conflict that Trusting in the Lord does not mean “pray right” and “God wants you to be rich and have all the blessings”. Prior generations, centuries and eras testify to the persecution of our forefathers. Trials are a means to draw people to God, or to total despair. You and many in your generation that I know including my own grown children are capturing the Truths you are teaching us, Kim. And you are right, it is NOT ABOUT ME, it is all about allowing the cleansing of our souls through trials that the world sees. We do not know who is watching. But every victory of smiling through pain (not ignoring the need to treat it, mind you) or the grueling process of cancer treatment or any number of physical and mental difficulties is witnessing to a hopeless world that there is hope, joy and, yes, value in suffering. It is all good. Thank you!

  4. Thanks to your blog I am reminded that my burdens can be for good not for evil. You are truly do God’s work, Good job! Keep it up girl!

Leave a Reply

