A Small Victory is Still a Victory!

Ok, not that anyone really cares, but I did something today that I never thought I would do again.  I did something that I used to enjoy before my diagnosis but had to stop for physical reasons.  I did something that I’ve missed very much but didn’t think I’d live to do again.  Today, I went for a run.

Here’s a pic from just a few months before my diagnosis.  This cemetery is my favorite place to run.  And it didn’t hit me until I was running today that that is where my husband and I bought plots when things were looking particularly grim last year.  So now I’m literally running right by the place that I thought I’d be by now.  Now that will mess with your mind!

image
Super weird, in this picture I'm actually standing right next to the plot we ended up buying just a few months later! Creepy!

It had secretly bugged me for some time now that because of cancer and the many physical trials of surgery, radiation, and chemo I couldn’t get out and go for a run.  But here I am.  And I did it!!
image

I wasn’t sure I could do it today.  Cancer has been in the lymph nodes of my lungs, would my lungs be able to handle it?  And my left thigh is still very uncomfortable from all of the muscle they took out of it for my transplant.  Could I even run with all that scar tissued mess going on?  Would my brain tumor spasm and send me into seizures? Would my port bother me at all?

It was uncomfortable and slow, but it got done!

image

Life is beginning to feel almost normal again.  I don’t completely trust it, but I am so grateful to still be here.  And to be doing things that I never thought I’d do again.  It’s a small victory in the grand scheme of things, but it feels monumental.

Never count yourself out!  Take your small victories and run with them. It’s so hard sometimes to stay positive, but stay the course and keep your head up, there is always hope.  I have a PET scan this coming Friday.  No matter what it says, I still feel like I’m winning.  God is as good and faithful today when I feel great as He would be if I get devastating news in a few days. 

As I ended my run, the David Guetta song “Titanium” came on, and I sang it right to cancer.

You shoot me down, but I get up
I’m bulletproof,
Nothing to lose

Fire away, fire away…

.

50 thoughts on “A Small Victory is Still a Victory!

  1. That was the most awesome thing I heard in sometime. I love u and ur family. I feel so blessed in getting to know u guys.

  2. So happy for you. I need to get motivated and boy did you give me a reason to stop whining. You go Kim.

  3. Awesome! And motivating to me also to get my butt off the couch and out there. 🙂 Another great song that you might like (actually the video is amazing, too) is Overcomer by Mandisa. Blessings!

  4. You go girl ! I’m playing 140 in the daily number tomorrow 😉 nice mohawk on Brit….give joyce barbatti a link to the new holland Overcomer event . Very happy for you, big accomplishment.

  5. Look at you living life to the fullest, I can smell the sweet aroma that your life is through the screen. Many do not get to experience what it’s like to truly live, your life is a great testimony to who God is. Lots of love to you today-

    M

    1. Thanks Melissa! I’m not sure how to put this without sounding weird but you have a really amazing Way of saying things. Your writing, in my opinion, proves that the holy spirit is real and true. I’m a big fan!! (Of you AND the holy spirit lol)

      1. It’s all Him, and I am so glad my writing speaks to you, your journey really speaks to me. I actually started a journal for my kids awhile back inspired by the holy spirit telling me to make eternal deposits- and your story also inspires me to do the same.

  6. You GO girl! Your picture in the graveyard reminded me of the day that we had the funeral for our daughter, Aliyah—(20 yrs, ago). TJ was 2 and spent the whole time “hurdle jumping” over the tombstones! :] It was a great reminder to me that day, that through Jesus we can say, “O grave, where is your victory?”! Love you and keep on running your race—right over the thing that is meant to defeat us! You are a conqueror!—Pam

  7. What a Heavenly Doctor we have Kimmmmie,,,,,,Thank You Sweet JSUS!!!!!!!!!!!!! I Lost my brother to cancer a few weeks ago Kim ,,,,Praise GOD my Lord to him home to heal him……..Keep fightin the good fight

Leave a Reply

