In Light of Recent Events…

I’ve been quiet lately.  Well, let me be clear, in the blogging aspect.  My husband can confirm that I’m rarely actually quiet.  But anyway, sometimes God is speaking to me and I’m still in the learning process of if that means He’s speaking to me or to me to share.

I, uhh, still am unclear, but hey, what’s the harm in sharing?  He’s been telling me in light of recent domestic and world events to keep quiet.  That my voice does not need to be heard amongst the white noise of reactions.  These reactions that we are seeing in the news every day is caused by a lot of baggage and deep hurt and I would not be adding a thing to it besides possibly causing a small ruckus and more division.  Certainly not the unity in love thing that God is practically trying to stamp onto my heart.

So, what do we do?  Remain silent?  Be doormats?  Become vigilantes?  God keeps giving me the word “serve”.  Serve.  And trust me, I know a lot is going on, but that doesn’t change our mission or our message.

Lots of people are hurting, divisive, reactionary.  When we are too, what is that really adding?  Don’t get me wrong, some people may be called to respond to that in a Christ-like manner, able to confront the issues and articulate things from our perspective with unwavering conviction and love.  If that’s you, you go!  Don’t let me stop you!

But, if you’re like me, you just feel lost and like you don’t quite know what to do or say or where you fit into all of this.  To us, I believe God wants us to keep our hearts and minds fixed on Him and our eyes fixed on the world.  The closer we draw to Him, the more He allows us glimpses of how He sees the world.  And it isn’t partisan.  And it isn’t divisive.  And it isn’t based on deservedness.  We are not, and have never been, called to be the judge of if someone is worthy or not.  None of us deserve His mercy and grace, may we never forget that.

My opinions are just that, my opinions.  They do not reflect all Christians.  So all I can do is keep my eyes open to people who may need something that I can give (a few bucks, words of encouragement, prayer, whatever) and keep my mind focused on God and my mission to bring Him glory.  I’m certain He will guide our paths and will sort out all the little details.

A great reminder…

image

.

20 thoughts on “In Light of Recent Events…

  1. Oh wow! This is so good! Im, at this moment, sitting on my couch with the fox news broadcast of craziness happening in baltimore on my tv..its so frusterating and i so badly want to spew my thoughts on it all, but i really just need to be praying. Thanks for this timely encouragement!

    1. Oh I hear ya! It’s actually quite unnatural for me not to go off about things, but it’s never solved anything for me before so I’ll give this a try lol, I certainly have more peace

  2. Amen and Amen – You have just acknowledged my feelings. Prayer is the best answer in these times – along with support of those doing the work. Nepal is in ours hearts right now.

  3. Once again Kim such wisdom. So grateful God is speaking through you. I’m reading The Case for Grace by Lee Strobell. Very timely and true. Blessings.

  4. Never be intimidated into silence by those who say you have no voice in the matter. Speak and teach the truth in love, for someone, somewhere will get it.

    2 Timothy 2:25-26 – “In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth; And [that] they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will.”

    1. Oh I’m certainly not intimidated, just unwilling to add to the chaos. For now I’ll keep serving locally and praying globally until I feel nudged to do otherwise. Great verses that are a powerful reminder. I think God is telling me I’m more effective serving and spreading the gospel one-on-one and face-to-face. It’s no secret that blogging can be quite impersonal, if every believer would look around and serve at a local, personal, more intimate level, I believe people would be more willing to listen to us

    1. That is so true! It’s almost like we are human or something Lol sorry, little joke, definitely doesn’t excuse our behavior. I’ve mouthed off enough for 10 lifetimes (oddly enough on both sides of just about every issue) I think it’s time I just shut up (:

Leave a Reply

