Something Worth Sharing!  

So I’ve come to a revelation of sorts: I don’t want to be a Christian cancer blogger anymore!  Cancer is seriously a bummer and Christianity is apparently not a huge seller.  So, I’m trying something different.  I’m going to be a food blogger!  With healthy recipes!

Lol sorry, I almost couldn’t type that without busting out laughing.  Cancer is what I do these days (sad but true) and faith is what I know.  And the thought of being a food blogger!  HA!  My husband can attest that usually my trying to cook looks something like this: 

 

Yeah.  It’s that bad!

But I am trying very hard to find recipes that are healthy and that my whole family will eat.  It’s not impossible since my kids are open to and willing to eat veggies, but it is, for whatever reason, seemingly impossible to find a recipe that EVERYONE agrees on.  

I’ll cut to the chase.  I found one.  Well, I actually found a banana bread recipe but adapted it to a healthy banana oat muffin recipe that is a HUGE crowd pleaser.  Like I can’t count on a batch of 18 lasting more than 3 days in the house and it’s a breakfast or snack that I feel very, very good about giving the kids.  And, as always, I’m trying to eat healthier.  These muffins make it easy.  They.  Are.  The.  Bomb.

I’ll share the recipe below exactly how I do it and the asterisks will lead you to the bottom where I explain some of my healthy swaps should you so desire to know why I chose what I did.  This recipe only takes one bowl and takes less than 10 minutes before they’re in the oven smelling up your house with deliciousness #win

Super Amazing Banana Oat Muffins

3 very ripe large bananas (mash first before adding other wet ingredients)

1/4 cup plain nonfat organic Greek yogurt

1/4 cup organic coconut oil*

3 tbs whole milk**

1 tbs vanilla

1 organic egg***

Mix all of these ingredients together until smooth(ish)

On top of the wet ingredients, layer:

1/2 cup sugar****

1/2 cup oats

1 1/4 cup organic flour*****

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 tsp baking soda (be sure baking soda doesn’t touch the other ingredients until everything is in and ready to mix)

Then stir all ingredients just until combined and scoop into muffin tins lined with cupcake wrappers.  I fill them to a little less than 2/3 full.  They do not rise a ton and are pretty dense, but my kids have little tummies and I’d rather make 18 medium sized muffins with none wasted than 12 huge ones that get half eaten.  But, your muffins, your call. 

Pop those babies in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes and boom.  Amazingness.  

*Warning: they smell super good and are quite hard to wait for 

 

Like, really hard… 

 

*Final warning: all domestic species seem on board with these bad boys.  Mater the cat got a hold of one when I wasn’t looking 

 

I hope your family likes these as much as we do!  No more fights over breakfast and begging for nasty, unhealthy cereals.  These are probably the only healthy thing that all 4 (well 6, if you count the dog and cat) of us can agree on.  Enjoy!

*coconut oil is not as scary and weird as it looks! I was intimidated by it but found if you put some in a measuring cup and place that in a bowl of warm water is melts quite easily and is very versatile.  Vegetable oil can be substituted.

**we only ever have whole milk.  I bet other milks would work fine

***we only use organic eggs (expensive yes, but I cut corners elsewhere so that I can get these gems). Normal eggs would be fine

****I have not personally run across a good sugar substitute and refuse to use artificial sweeteners.  I use 1/2 cup in this recipe and the original recipe called for a whole cup!  Yikes.  These babies are sweet enough.  If you know of a good alternative to regular sugar, I’m all ears.  I figure, everything in moderation.

*****I don’t bake.  Much.  So I didn’t find the price difference between organic flour and regular flour to be all that alarming.  Regular flour would be fine in this.  Don’t ask me about whole wheat flour cuz I don’t have a clue!

12 thoughts on “Something Worth Sharing!  

    1. Lol you are SO right! I would never pretend to be a real foodie blogger. Those people are legit!! I just happened to stumble upon something that worked and figured I share 🙂

    1. Exactly! The not trying is what makes you cool. Effortless (: I don’t actually know if Christianity is a big seller, sure seems like straight-up Christ following isn’t…

  1. Well…I love food Kim, so I like this turn of events. Although I don’t pay attention to healthy like I should. I’m from the south, it’s all fried LOL.

  2. Try pure maple syrup or honey. I’ve slowly been switching my family to no processed foods. I find myself using a lot of recipes from 100 Days of Real food. Check out the website, there is a recipe index included. My kids actually say they are more full and food tastes better. I feel like that’s the win :). (FYI I’m Grace and Dave Edwards, from your church, daughter. I’ve had two melanoma (stage 0) both excised and have been cancer free 5 years).

  3. Oh, I finally switched to whole wheat flour, (because my white finally ran out). My kids also said things tasted better 🙂 and I did not tell them I switched!

  4. Hey Kim, this is an uplifting and comical relief from your serious side. I have very much appreciated the stories from other Melanoma survivors, or should I say, overcomers.
    In answer to your quest for sugar substitutes that are healthful. I have been on no gluten no sugar for over two years. (this means no regular baked goods at all and no processed foods.) I have always loved baked goods and baking. In my quest to find affordable alternate flours and sweets to make my cookies, muffins and occasionally cakes palatable, I have found some good combinations. If you are looking for a granulated sweetener, try using bakeable Stevia. Stevia, a leaf extract, is very sweet. I use liquid stevia to sweeten my home brewed teas, etc. A drop or two is enough for glass ful. Baking has been a journey. I use maple syrup and honey, but you have to adjust for the liquid portion. That is why, when it comes to muffins and cookies, I prefer the bakeable stevia. You can find it on line at Puritan.com. That is a good resource for affordable health items including skin care, baking, foods, snacks and vitamins. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

