PET Scan Musings

I’m sitting here waiting for another PET scan.  I must admit, the quiet and privacy of the waiting room is actually quite nice.  And hey!  Free drinks!

image

This is the first time I haven’t felt any anxiety over a scan.  I’m not freaking out at what the results will be, I’m not thinking worst case scenarios, I’m just kind of in a good place and I’m hoping it can stay this way.

But where my mind on my health is calm and collected, spiritually my brain is scattered in 1,000 directions.  My heart is heavy for those facing major trials, I’m anxious for those who are seemingly wanting to find faith but don’t want to commit yet (I understand the feeling certainly, I’m not being pushy, but I feel anxiety nonetheless), I feel nauseous over how I feel so powerless to change anything.

But for the last few days, I’ve been writing on the back of my hand certain verses that have been running around my head and it’s actually been a really effective way to keep these thoughts fresh in my mind all the time.  And (bonus) lots of people ask about it:

image

Here’s the best I can figure from putting these three together: Christ died for me.  If I don’t truly believe that then I am doing more harm than good to the cause.  If I do truly believe it, then it is a call to action.  I am to deny myself, pick up my cross, and follow Jesus.  I have to.  It’s my call.  It’s everyone’s call.  Deny myself!  And Galatians 3:21 says, “I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless.”

Man that’s powerful.  Because don’t we often, even if unintentionally, downplay how crucial grace is to this whole business.  It’s the only way.  It’s the only way.  And when we realize what we have received, then we can go forth and act.  Serve.  Love.  Share. 

Grace is meaningless if we then don’t work for bringing glory to God through our lives, our stories, our God-given gifts.

What if we did everything out of a grateful and humble heart rather than out of duty or obligation?  I bet then the church would truly be the love that we are supposed to be.  That is my heart’s cry, to see the church live to please Jesus sincerely, rather than creating a Jesus that works for the church, which we have a tendency to do.

Don’t work for the kingdom because you “should”, do the work because you know what you’ve been saved from and now others just are more important, to put it simply. 

My old self has been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.  So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless.  For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die.(Galatians 3:20-21 – emphasis added).

8 thoughts on “PET Scan Musings

  1. I love the picture – what an encouragement you are and so wise for your age!!!! Your blog got me through my diagnosis and surgery…..and keeps me encouraged now! Thank you for opening your life and your journey!

Leave a Reply

