The Cancer…Returns

Cool title, right?  I should totally copyright that and make a million dollars.  Anyway…I had a few people urging me to write tonight, and for that I’m grateful.  Because, quite honestly, I don’t want to but I know it’s therapeutic and I have lots of friends all over the place walking this journey with me so I think it’s fair to give an update.  So as you probably could have already guessed, and wow there just isn’t a fun way to say this, my cancer is back. 

After a few very long weeks of sickness and hospital stays for various reasons, a ct scan last night revealed that the cancer has metastasized into my liver.  There are several tumors that are about 1.5 cm around.  This was just not something I was ready to hear.

BUT this situation isn’t without hope of course.  I’ll restart chemo on Tuesday (possibly a little modified, I’ll update when I know more) and I will also get a lung ct to check for mets in my lungs.  And looking back I wish I would have blogged more about the events leading up to this, but everything seemed so muddy and confusing at the time and I didn’t even know where to begin.  But looking back, now it seems a lot clearer and we can see how God has been working in this already.

I’m sad and I’m tired, but I’m certainly not giving up.  I know I have the best support group ever and it feels great to be home finally with my hubby and kids again.  Thanks for all the love!! ❤

40 thoughts on “The Cancer…Returns

  1. Aww, I am so sad to hear this! Prayers for you as you restart chemo! Let the fight begin again and know your church family and friends will be behind you and lifting you in prayer!!

  2. So sorry to hear of the return. Praying for you and your family!
    The Lord also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.
    Psalm 32:7

  3. Kim, so sorry to hear that your cancer is back. I will pray for clear answers to treatment options and healing for you. Praying for your family also. God bless, Linda

  4. Kim I have read your blog. I got the information from Cherise Davies. I want you to know that I will hold you up in prayer every day! I know that you have many many warriors for prayer my prayer would be for your strength and that you may be encouraged in hearing the voice of God who is with you everyday. Today you have a blessed day

  5. Kim–my heart hurts with this news but rejoices that Jesus is our healer and redeemer. All things are possible with Him. I just read Psalm 16:1-2 in my devotional this morning. “Keep me safe, My God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the Lord, You are my Lord. Apart from you I have no good thing.” On a more “earthly” note…I am a subscriber to Cure Magazine and have been getting many updates in the last few weeks for new treatments for melanoma. I will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers as well as the doctors and researchers for continued breakthroughs from God’s healing wisdom.

  6. Kim – prayers for you and the family – I cried a few tears when I heard but then rememebered God is in control and you are in His hands. You are such an inspiriation to so many. Thanks for taking us with you on this journey. We appreciate you openness and honesty.

  7. This was hard to hear. Then today we found out my mom has something on her lung, and it could either be inflammation from the keytruda or metastasis. Doc wants to take her off the keytruda for two months and then rescan and it is terrifying to think of that, potentially letting it really spread. Sigh, management of melanoma problems. I pray for your peace.

  8. I think yesterday it was me who read your post first as I’m on the other side of the planet. Originally I wanted to ask you about the side effects of keytruda as you are the exemplar of my wife who also receives it(7th dose). But it was not the post I wanted to read and I was totally shocked yesterday morning, but I haven’t told this info to my wife. I just was thinking of you every day while we were waiting at clinic or went here and there.The doctors in US have wide experince and I think they can find the best solution to you, put you in another trial(TIL cell theraphy or high dose keytruda and IL2). You proved many times you are strong. You are to win again. I just wanted you to know that we pray for you Kim from Central Europe and we are with you.

    1. Hi Zoltan thanks so much for teaching out. I’m so sorry that you and your wife are dealing with this too but hopefully your wife will have a complete response to the keytruda and you won’t have any side effects or issues. I will pray for you guys, please feel free to keep me updated if you think of it. Hang in there

  9. KIm, I will add you back onto my weekly prayer list. I am saddened to hear the news, obviously, but I cannot think of a more courageous and faithful person to tackle this.
    ~~ Craig Ross, Jess(Ross) Caine’s dad, and maybe more importantly, one of your parents’ old MTMB band parent companions.

  10. I just teared up reading that your melanoma is back. Hate isn’t a strong enough word to convey my disdain for melanoma. So grateful that we have a God who is sovereign and who does all things well. May you be comforted and strengthened by His truth.

  11. Hi my best friend has a rare form of cancer and I was wondering if you could help me and let me know the name of the doctor or medicine that they used to treat you. He has been fighting hard and I’m happy to hear you are beating this disease. Any information would be great thank you

Leave a Reply

